Eric Kendricks Lott IMPACT Trophy Winner

*Kendricks is the Second Straight Bruin to Win the Award*

Eric Kendricks of UCLA, the premier linebacker in the nation, was named the winner of the 11th annual Lott IMPACT Trophy brought to you by Mercedes-Benz USA. The Trophy was presented Sunday night at the annual award banquet in Newport Beach.

The Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation will present a check in the amount of $25,000 to the general scholarship fund at UCLA in honor of Kendricks’ achievement.

The other finalists were Landon Collins of Alabama, David Helton of Duke and Hau’oli Kikaha of Washington. Each of their schools will receive a check in the amount of $5,000 for their general scholarship funds.

The nominees were judged on both their performance on the field and their character off the field. IMPACT stands for Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity.

Kendricks set the UCLA career record with 471 tackles, including 139 this past season when the Bruins finished 9-3 and were ranked 14th in the college football playoff ranking. He also was named the winner of the Butkus Award earlier in the week.

Kendricks became the second UCLA player to win the award. Teammate Anthony Barr won it last year.

The evening also featured the presentation of a honorary Lott IMPACT Trophy, given to Tim McCarthy, the Secret Service Agent who took a bullet for President Ronald Reagan during a failed assassination attempt.

Winners of the Lott IMPACT Trophy:
2004 – David Pollack, DE, Georgia
2005 – DeMeco Ryans, LB, Alabama
2006 – Dante Hughes, DB, Cal
2007 – Glenn Dorsey, DT, LSU
2008 – James Laurinaitis, LB, Ohio State
2009 – Jerry Hughes, DE, TCU
2010 – J.J. Watt, DT, Wisconsin
2011 – Luke Kuechly, LB, Boston College
2012 – Manti Te’o, LB, Notre Dame
2013 – Anthony Barr, LB, UCLA
2014 – Eric Kendricks, LB, UCLA